Copa MX

Veracruz crowned Copa MX champions after 4-1 win over Necaxa


Julio Furch scored twice as Veracruz lifted their first trophy in 66 years with a 4-1 victory over Necaxa in the final of the Copa MX Clausura.

After a goalless first half, a Hugo Cid header three minutes after the break gave the Tiburones Rojos the lead.

Necaxa, who still harbor ambitions of winning promotion to Liga MX, equalized four minutes later when Jorge Sanchez headed home from an Oscar Fernandez cross.

Veracruz kept pushing forward, though, and were back in front on 58 minutes through Julio Furch. Another set-piece ended with the Argentine forward sending a header past Jesus Gallardo to give the Tiburones Rojos the lead.

It was then 3-1 on 68 minutes when Rodrigo Noya profited from a third set-piece.

Furch rounded off a night to remember for the Tiburones Rojos in style when he fired in his second goal of the game with a brilliant reception and finish.

With the result, Veracruz will take on Chivas, winners of the Copa MX Apertura edition, to determine one of Mexico’s three spots in next year’s Copa Libertadores.


Chivas beat Leon to win Copa MX


Chivas de Guadalajara became Copa MX champions on Wednesday night after beating Club Leon 1-0 at the Estadio Nou Camp.

Oswaldo Alanis hit the decisive goal in the second half as Chivas earned its first trophy in nine years.

After a goalless first half, Chivas’ efforts paid off in the 71st minute when Raul “Dedos” Lopez picked up the ball from a free kick and found Oswaldo Alanis, who hit a perfect header past William Yarbrough to give Chivas the lead.

Leon started to stage pressure late in the second period, with Rodolfo Cota making numerous saves to keep his team in front.

La Furia determined, continued to press, Carlos Alberto “Gullit” Peña smashed a ball against the woodwork then Luis Montes missed an open goal.

But Chivas played through the last minutes and effecitvely sealed the title of Copa MX champions.

The win earned Chivas half a ticket for one of Mexico’s three spots in the 2017 Copa Libertadores.


Chivas, Leon will face off in the Copa MX Final


Chivas reached the Copa MX final for the second straight season after beating Toluca 1-0 on Wednesday night.

Matias Almeyda’s side needed a 33rd minute volley from captain Omar Bravo to earn a close 1-0 victory against Jose Saturnino’s men.

Meanwhile, despite a great performance from Atlas goalkeeper Miguel Pinto, Leon edged their way to the final with a 1-0 win against the Rojinegros.

Mauro Boselli scored the only goal of the match early in the second half as La Fiera took down former manager Gustavo Matosas and Atlas.

Leon and Chivas will meet next Wednesday at the Estadio Nou Camp for a chance at the grand prize.


Puebla defeat Chivas 4-2 to win the Copa MX title


Image via @lacopamx

By Rafael

Puebla were crowned Clausura 2015 Copa MX champions as they defeated Chivas 4-2 at the Estadio Universitario BUAP on Tuesday in an exciting game.

Chivas, who are the in-form team in the Liga MX at the moment, missed their opportunity to win their first trophy since 2006.

Meanwhile, Puebla came into this game as last in the relegation table, but with the hope of winning the Copa MX trophy for the fifth time in their history.

The game had an added incentive to it as Cuauhtemoc Blanco was making his last appearance as a professional player.

Read More

Copa MX: Puebla to play Chivas in final after 3-0 victory


Image via

By Rafael

Puebla beat Monterrey 3-0 on Tuesday night to advance to their second consecutive Copa MX final and will play Chivas for the cup-prize.

Mario de Luna scored soon after the halfway point of the first-half and Wilberto Cosme doubled the lead for La Franja.

42-year-old Cuauhtemoc Blanco, starting Tuesday’s game rather than coming from the bench, looked threatening throughout the game, and scored Puebla’s third from the penalty spot.

The former Mexican international stepped up and banged the ball past Jonathan Orozco to seal Puebla’s progress to the final.

The final against Chivas is programmed to be played on April 21 at the Estadio Universitario BUAP.