Mexico’s CONCACAF U-17 Championship Group Decided

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+

By Rafael

Mexico’s Under-17 National Team has been drawn into Group B of the 2015 CONCACAF U-17 Championship in Honduras. Mexico will face Canada, Haiti, Panama, St. Lucia, and Costa Rica.

The tournament is set to run from February 27, 2015 to March 15, 2015. Mexico is the defending champion of the tournament, and they will open up play versus Panama on February 28, 2015. They will then play St. Lucia on March 3rd, Canada on March 6th, Haiti on March 9th, and Costa Rica on March 12th.

The competition will determine the four CONCACAF representatives for the 2015 U-17 World Cup in Chile. At the conclusion of the group stage, the top team of each group earns an automatic berth to the World Cup. Second and Third-placed teams for each group confront each other in a one-game playoff match to determine the other two.

In the case that Mexico qualifies to the World Cup, Mexico will be entering the tournament as the runners-up, losing to Nigeria in the final of the 2013 U-17 World Cup.


Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+

About Rafael Diaz

Fan of good futbol. Rafa runs when he is not busy watching Arsenal drop points away to Stoke.